Looks Like We (She) Made It!!!!

laura grad collage


This week has been a whirlwind of graduation ceremonies and activities. Last night, Thomas’ son, Andres, graduated from Downey High School with a class of over 1000 students. 1000 – almost unfathomable — but now that I experienced it, I now know what it can look like when you commemorate the ending of one era and the beginning of another on a scale of gargantuan proportions. Juxtapose Andres’ graduation with my high school graduating class that came in at exactly 40 – 20 girls and 20 boys and you have quite the paradox!

Last weekend, marked a first for my kids and I. Our first college graduation! My oldest daughter, Laura, graduated from UC Santa Barbara. The day began in typical “June Gloom” fashion – cloudy and overcast; however, such weather was quickly replaced with plenty of sunshine. It’s on the beach and in Southern California – of course it would be bright and sunny (and I still have the sunburn to prove it!). As her major was English and Literature, her particular school’s graduation was scheduled with other humanity majors so lots of words and quips were used through the various speeches, including some serious words in regards to remembering the victims and their families who were affected by the Isla Vista shooting. Isla Vista is the area where most of the UCSB students live and is the patch of land between the campus and the ocean. Continued thoughts and prayers go out to all those students and their friends and families. Collectively, as parents, we all seemed to feel a similar sense of empathy that results when one realizes how the 6 victims could have easily been our child who, with excitement, was about to commemorate a job well done after four years of hard work.

I am a very proud mom! College graduation – a dream that I had for each my children when I held them as little bundles of joy. And now, my oldest has been the first to check that goal off her list. The minute she came into view and ready to process into the sun with her fellow classmates, I felt my eyes fill with tears and my breath was taken away. There she was, cap on her head (complete with a Sylvia Plath quote), huge smile spread across her face, blonde hair whipping in the wind, all dressed in black. I was filled with such emotion. My heart was turning somersaults! As she moved towards the front to have her name called, we made eye contact and I could see the bright smile on her face. My eyes followed her exact movements and she moved across the front, shaking hands and stopping to pose for pictures. And then, after the 300 or so names had been called, all the students received the blessing from the Chancellor and were received as graduates. Tassles were moved across the caps and a few brave souls gave their cap a little toss. The pomp and circumstance was over.

Personally, I have experienced 4 graduations – 8th grade, high school, college, and graduate school (Masters’). I remember the joy and accomplishment that I felt during each of those ceremonies. I can still play key memories from those celebrations in the mind movie that plays in my head. However, I don’t remember the flood of feelings and emotions being the same during my graduations when compared to what I experienced during Laura’s graduation.

Once Laura and I were reunited after I made way through the sea of other parents, friends, and family members, I gave her a big hug. A huge smile was still plastered across her face. Looks like she made it!

Leave a comment